top of page
  • Writer's pictureAieleen Denise T. Veloz

Why do I want to be a ‘WAHM’?

Let me tell you first what is ‘WAHM’. WAHM is an acronym for Work-at-home-Mom,

I have encountered this word, a few weeks ago through my online freelancing course (FVA) I am attending. And this is the very reason why I want to be WAHM.



Ever since I gave birth to my son last October 2011, I really to wanted to be there for him while growing up but due to our situation that time, I was unable to be there to look after him. I started working in a Business Process Outsourcing (BPO) company in the Philippines, 2 months after I gave birth. I need to leave my son in the hands of my family or relatives to take care of him because I need to go to work. Seven years after, I am still working, not in a BPO company but in a company outside Philippines, which for me became worst to be with my son. And this made me realize that I need to do something if I want to be with my son in his growing up years.



Then I came across with this online freelancing course training in Facebook named Filipino Virtual Assistant. It interested me so much because they were encouraging people from all ages, man or women to work at home. And that’s it, I decided to enroll in their online freelancing training to enhance my skills (since I already have an experience in a virtual assistant task as a Research Analyst in my previous work before in a BPO company.), I also want to learn new skills related to online freelancing skills so that I will be fully equipped when I start working at home.




Now, I am almost done with my online freelancing course, and I learned so many online freelancing skills like general virtual assistant task, social media marketing/ management, content marketing, SEO, simple web design. Some tips on how to be an effective VA, and also tools that can help me doing my tasks. I can say now that I am ready to start my new career as a WAHM, excited and so much ready to be my son again in his growing up years.


This online freelancing training have taught me so much about online freelancing world, and I can’t wait to help you with your freelancing related tasks. You can send me an email, and follow my social media accounts for more details.

bottom of page